Lake County’s oldest stone building and 1840 schoolhouse is a hidden gem located at 7125 Ravenna Road in Concord Township. The only one of nine one- room schools still standing, it is an educational museum maintained by volunteers and has welcomed visitors, school groups and tour since 2005. Before we get to the rest of the story -let’s see if you could have passed the eighth grade Boxwell-Patterson graduation examination from 1899. Here are three sample questions…
#1. A square contains 40 A. How many rods of fence will be required to entirely enclose it?
#2. Diagram: The Lord loveth a cheerful giver.
#3. Name and locate ten ports of the Great Lakes.
As mentioned a slate of programs are on the 2017 calendar for families and history enthusiasts. The first one occurs on Saturday, April 29th from 1-3pm. A dual purpose event promoting childhood literacy, the afternoon event asks local residents to bring a new or gently used book to donate to children’s wards at area hospitals. Additionally a dedication ceremony introducing Concord’s first Little Free Library will be held at 2pm. The Little Free Library located at the schoolhouse site is the result of a joint partnership between The Friends of Morley Library and Concord Township’s Recreation Officer Debra Esker. Everyone is invited to a free tour of the Old Stone School #1 or to simply drop by to donate a book or take a book.
Other new offerings for 2017 include June 3rd’s ‘Truck Day’, a Concord School System Reunion in November and an adult book club beginning in August. Popular programs enjoying an encore this year are the Ghost Stories Night in October, Letters to Santa with Mrs. Claus and a Winter Solstice Hike in December.